Beau announce their hotly anticipated debut album 'That Thing Reality'

Beau announce their hotly anticipated debut album 'That Thing Reality'


New York two-piece band BEAU today announce their hotly anticipated debut album ‘That Thing Reality’, out via Kitsuné/Sony Red on March 11th 2016. The album, which channels an angst and poetic vibrancy not seen since the likes of Patti Smith and Joni Mitchell, comes straight from the heart of two girls who have grown up surrounded by the arts and music of a city that has spawned some of the greats.

BEAU consists of multi-faceted duo Heather Boo and Emma Rose who at 21-years of age have created a debut record that shows growth, songwriting prowess and a depth rarely seen from artists of their age. ‘That Thing Reality’ has been created with the help of producer Al O’Connell (aka ‘alalal’ – Bruno Mars, Mark Ronson, Rufus Wainwright) and embellishes the sound established with the band’s highly praised debut self-titled EP put out earlier this year via Parisian independent label Kitsuné.

So far BEAU have played extensively on both sides of the Atlantic including performing for a packed room at The Social in London, Patti Smith at her launch of‘Cowboy Mouth’ at The Chelsea Hotel, Cannes Film Festival and this November at Les InRocks Festival in France.

Creatively the band are a self-made entity, the aesthetic of which runs parallel with their personal experience growing up as quintessential New Yorkers; likened to Sofia Coppola’s film style of exploring the naivety of youth culture. BEAU have released four videos which capture this essence, ‘One Wing’ co-directed with Nautico,‘C’mon Please’ and ‘Soar Across The Sea’.

Currently on the cover of the 10th Anniversary issue of Wonderland shot by their friend and previous collaborator photographer Ryan McGinley, other press support has hailed from The Guardian, music bible NME, cult French title Purple Fashion Magazine, both Noisey and i-D,  Interview Magazine and The New York Times.

See the band live:

7th November – Nouvelle Prague at Staropramen Brewery, Prague

9th November – The Waiting Room, London

12th November – Auster Club, Berlin

13th November – Heaven Royal Theatre at The Hague, Holland

14th November – Festival Des les Inrocks at La Boule Noire, Paris

17th November – 106 Club, Rouen (w/ Flo Morrissey)

18th November – La Péniche, Lille (w/ Flo Morrissey)

Full Track listing:

  1. ‘C’mon Please’
  2. ‘Jane Hotel’
  3. ‘Mosquito’
  4. ‘One Wing’
  5. ‘Animal Kingdom’
  6. ‘Oceans’
  7. ‘Leave Me Be’
  8. ‘Roam’
  9. ‘Sweet Lips’
  10. ‘Soar Across The Sea’
  11. ‘Sleep Deprived’
  12. ‘Lullaby’

Beau release their debut album ‘That Thing Reality’ on Monday 11th March 2016 via Kitsuné/Sony Red.

Available for pre-order here:

Beau’s album artwork is shot by photographer Ryan McGinley.